Review: Course Description (THI)

By : Muhammad Choirul RosiqinInternational Relations Student @University of Muhammadiyah Malang

This subject is an academic discipline of International Relations Department, Theories of International Relations or “Teori Hubungan Internasional”(IR’s student of UMM called) will familiarise students with some of the major debates within the discipline. Muhammad Choirul RosiqinIt will also introduce them to key interdisciplinary conversations between IR and other disciplines such as history, philosophy and sociology. Although the course content is largely theoretical, we will refer to historical and contemporary developments as illustrative examples. We hope that this course will be a learning experience to nudge students to think creatively and critically.
The study of international relations (IR) can be defined as the thinking about the relations between political units in anarchical structures. A rough outline starts with concepts of “theory” and their different epistemological validity criteria and methodological functions for understanding international relations. It then deals with the different ontologies IR theories produce; their premises, characteristics, and consequences.
The course has ten units which are further divided into sub-units. Each sub-unit has a background reading that offers a basic introduction to the topic. Example: Unit – An Introduction of International Relations (Scott Burchill and Andrew Linklater), sub-Unit (Frameworks of analysis, Diversity of theory, Contested nature, The foundation of International Relations, Theories and disciplines, Explanatory and constitutive theory, What do theories of international relations differ about?, and Evaluating theories).
Students are requested to familiarize themselves with the introductory reading before the lecture and follow up with the specified essential and suggested readings, example: (John Baylis/Steve Smith (eds.): The Globalization of World Politics. An Introduction to International Relations. 3 rd ed). During class discussion, they will be expected not just to summarise, but also critically evaluate the essential reading and attempt to uncover all possible shades of an argument.
Objective: This course is designed to introduce students to the academic discipline of International Relations (IR). To make the student familiar with the intellectual history of IR in terms of its major debates and questioning “why” theories, or paradigm in field of study International Relations appeared.

About Muhammad Choirul Rosiqin

I was born in Eastern Probolinggo, East Java, in 1994. I'm student of International Relations @University of Muhammadiyah Malang
This entry was posted in Teori Hubungan Internasional and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

151 Responses to Review: Course Description (THI)

  1. It is actually a nice and useful piece of info. I am satisfied that you shared this useful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Really nice design and great articles , hardly anything else we require : D.

    Like

  3. You are my intake , I have few blogs and rarely run out from to post .

    Like

  4. I gotta bookmark this site it seems handy very beneficial

    Like

  5. You are my aspiration , I have few blogs and rarely run out from to post .

    Like

  6. Merely a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding style and design .

    Like

  7. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!

    Like

  8. I have recently started a blog, the information you provide on this website has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work. “The man who fights for his fellow-man is a better man than the one who fights for himself.” by Clarence Darrow.

    Like

  9. I just could not depart your web site prior to suggesting that I actually loved the standard information a person provide to your guests? Is gonna be again regularly in order to check up on new posts.

    Like

  10. I gotta favorite this web site it seems very useful very beneficial

    Like

  11. I consider something really special in this site.

    Like

  12. I do accept as true with all the concepts you’ve presented in your post. They’re very convincing and will definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are too brief for newbies. Could you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

    Like

  13. I went over this internet site and I believe you have a lot of fantastic information, saved to fav (:.

    Like

  14. I see something truly interesting about your site so I saved to fav.

    Like

  15. I genuinely enjoy studying on this web site, it holds wonderful articles. “Beware lest in your anxiety to avoid war you obtain a master.” by Demosthenes.

    Like

  16. I was reading some of your posts on this internet site and I believe this website is really informative! Continue putting up.

    Like

  17. I’ll right away grab your rss as I can not to find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly allow me know in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

  18. I really like your writing style, good information, thanks for posting : D.

    Like

  19. F*ckin’ tremendous things here. I am very happy to look your post. Thanks a lot and i’m taking a look forward to touch you. Will you please drop me a mail?

    Like

  20. Its wonderful as your other blog posts : D, thankyou for posting . “The art of love … is largely the art of persistence.” by Albert Ellis.

    Like

  21. obviously like your web site but you have to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very troublesome to inform the truth then again I will certainly come again again.

    Like

  22. Thank you, I’ve just been looking for info approximately this topic for a long time and yours is the best I have discovered till now. However, what about the bottom line? Are you sure about the source?

    Like

  23. Some really good posts on this website , thankyou for contribution.

    Like

  24. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I’m very glad to see such fantastic information being shared freely out there.

    Like

  25. You are my intake , I own few blogs and sometimes run out from to brand.

    Like

  26. I like this weblog very much, Its a real nice office to read and find information. “A little in one’s own pocket is better than much in another man’s purse.” by Miguel de Cervantes.

    Like

  27. Very interesting subject , appreciate it for putting up. “Everything in the world may be endured except continued prosperity.” by Johann von Goethe.

    Like

  28. Its superb as your other blog posts : D, thankyou for posting . “I catnap now and then, but I think while I nap, so it’s not a waste of time.” by Martha Stewart.

    Like

  29. You are my breathing in, I own few web logs and infrequently run out from brand :). “He who controls the past commands the future. He who commands the future conquers the past.” by George Orwell.

    Like

  30. Some genuinely superb info , Glad I discovered this. “Courage is contagious. When a brave man takes a stand, the spines of others are stiffened.” by William Franklin Billy Graham.

    Like

  31. Appreciate it for helping out, fantastic info .

    Like

  32. You are my breathing in, I possess few blogs and often run out from to post .

    Like

  33. Merely wanna input on few general things, The website style is perfect, the articles is rattling fantastic : D.

    Like

  34. Nikeair says:

    Thankfully, you can find a considerable amount of folks you are able to turn to for advice and guide in creating your choice. At most schools, you will find teachers that are professionally qualified to provide you detailed information about job qualifications. And you can talk more than your tips with members of the family and close friends who are consistently prepared to listen and to provide ideas.
    Nikeair http://nikeairmai22.iconosites.com/

    Like

  35. Very interesting subject, regards for putting up.

    Like

  36. You can definitely see your skills in the paintings you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. At all times follow your heart. “We may pass violets looking for roses. We may pass contentment looking for victory.” by Bern Williams.

    Like

  37. I’ve been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this website. Thank you, I will try and check back more often. How frequently you update your site?

    Like

  38. I’ll right away grab your rss feed as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly allow me recognise in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

  39. great points altogether, you simply gained a new reader. What would you recommend about your post that you made a few days ago? Any sure?

    Like

  40. I gotta favorite this website it seems very useful very beneficial

    Like

  41. I went over this internet site and I believe you have a lot of good information, saved to favorites (:.

    Like

  42. I have recently started a blog, the information you offer on this site has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work. “My dear and old country, here we are once again together faced with a heavy trial.” by Charles De Gaulle.

    Like

  43. You could definitely see your skills within the work you write. The arena hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart. “Until you walk a mile in another man’s moccasins you can’t imagine the smell.” by Robert Byrne.

    Like

  44. Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this post is amazing, great written and come with almost all significant infos. I’d like to see more posts like this.

    Like

Hey hey! What have you got to say?

